Search the Site

Print Friendly and PDF

Catherine M. Stone


Board Certifications

  • Civil Appellate Law, Texas Board of Legal Specialization


Location San Antonio


  • St. Mary’s University School of Law, J.D., 1982
  • Assumption College, B.A. magna cum laude, 1976

Bar Admission

  • State Bar of Texas, 1982

About Catherine M. Stone About Catherine M. Stone

Catherine Stone has devoted her entire legal career to appellate law.  Since 1987, Stone has been board certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization as a civil appellate law specialist. Prior to joining Langley & Banack, Stone served as the Chief Justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals in San Antonio, Texas.  Stone was initially appointed to that Court in 1994 by the late Governor Ann Richards, and was thereafter elected three times to continue her service as a justice.  In 2008 she was elected to serve as Chief Justice of the Court.  During her tenure on the Court she wrote thousands of legal opinions, and under her leadership as the Chief Justice, the Fourth Court of Appeals was widely recognized as an efficient and innovative court.  Stone was also elected by her fellow Chief Justices to serve a two-year term as the Chief of the Texas Council of Chief Justices.  In that capacity Stone represented the intermediate courts of appeals before the Legislature, and with the help of her colleagues, successfully obtained much needed additional funding for the appellate courts.

Stone began her legal career as a briefing attorney at the Fourth Court of Appeals.  She then practiced personal injury trial and appellate law with the San Antonio firm of Watkins, Mireles, Brock & Barrientos.  She continued her practice of appellate law with the Law Office of Catherine M. Stone for several years before beginning her judicial service.

Stone offers full appellate services, including appellate and trial briefing and strategy, oral arguments and presentations, brief editing and review, and a complete range of mediation and arbitration services.

Accolades Accolades

  • Joe Frazier Brown Award of Excellence, San Antonio Bar Association, 2015
  • San Antonio Women’s Hall of Fame, 2015
  • Catholic Charities of San Antonio Lifetime of Faith & Service Award, 2014
  • Tejano Democrats of Bexar County Hall of Justice Award, 2013
  • St. Mary’s School of Law Rosewood Gavel Award, 2012
  • St. Mary’s School of Law Distinguished Law Graduate, 2011
  • Dress for Success San Antonio Precious Pearl Award, 2009
  • St. Mary’s University Hispanic Law Alumni Henry B. Gonzalez Award, 2009
  • La Prensa Foundation Outstanding Women in Action Award, 2009
  • San Antonio Democratic League Barbara Jordan Public Service Award, 2000, 2006
  • Archdiocese of San Antonio Leadership Service Award, 2004
  • Texas Business & Professional Women: Texas Woman to Watch Award, 1997
  • Northwest Noon Business & Professional Women: San Antonio Woman to Watch Award, 1997

Associations Associations

Bar and Professional Memberships

  • National Association of Women Judges
  • American Bar Association
    • Member: judicial section
  • Texas Bar Association
    • Member: appellate section
    • Member: judicial section
  • San Antonio Bar Association
    • Member: appellate section
  • Mexican American Bar Association of San Antonio
  • Bexar County Women’s Bar Association
  • Webb County Bar Association
  • American Inns of Court, William Session Chapter
  • Texas Bar Foundation, Fellow
  • San Antonio Bar Foundation, Fellow
  • Texas Supreme Court Task Force on Foster Care
    • Member: 1997-2007
  • Texas Multidistrict Litigation Panel
    • Member: 2007-2014
  • Texas Council of Chief Justices
    • Member: 2009-2014
    • Chair: 2011-2013

Civic and Charitable Involvement

  • Catholic Charities of San Antonio, Board Member (2010-present)
  • Chrysalis Detention Ministries, Advisory Board Member (2008-present)
  • Interfaith Dialogue Institute, Advisory Board Member  (2008-present)
  • St. Luke Catholic Community
    • Pastoral Council, President (2006-2008)
    • School Board, Member (1997-2004), President 2003-2004)

Articles Articles » Read More